Skip to content

Foundation Awards Teacher Impact Grants

Teacher Impact Grants Presented… The Holden R-III Foundation awarded its annual Teacher Impact Grants the week before school started. Instead of making the grant presentations at the staff back-to-school breakfast, the awards were given outside near the football field to allow for social distancing and other pandemic mitigation efforts, due to COVID-19. The Foundation awarded a total of nine new grants to 10 instructors, for a total of $9,817.27 in educational funds.                                                    Photo submitted

In spite of the ongoing coronavirus pandemic, the Holden R-III Foundation continues its important work of awarding the annual Teacher Impact Grants (TIGs).

The Foundation awards grants to deserving teachers each year to help with the education of Holden students.

The TIGs are usually awarded at the staff Back to School breakfast held prior to the first day of school.

However, this year because of the COVID pandemic, the breakfast became a grab-and-go affair to avoid the congregation of a large group.

So, for the 2020-21 school year, Foundation President Sally Davidson personally presented each TIG outside at the football field. Social distancing was observed and the educators were still celebrated for their innovative teaching ideas.

The Foundation gave a total of nine grants to 10 teachers, for a total of $9,817.27 in funds for the new school year.

The Foundation strives to aid Holden students and teachers in achieving their academic and educational goals by enhancing their learning environments.

This year’s instructors who were awarded TIGs included – Amanda Orton, Amy Fennewald, Ashlee Brockhaus, Carly Ewing, Kathy Kilgore, Mitti Manor, Tobi Chambers, Trina Davidson, Carrie Christy and Shawna Thompson.

Area businesses and individuals continue to support the Holden Foundation, because they believe in the Foundation’s mission and want to stand behind Holden’s students and educators.

Below is a list of donors and sponsors who have been instrumental in making the grants possible this year. Also listed are the different levels at which you may give –

Legend – Gift of $2,500 and Above – The Cowboy Inn Crew – Sandy Carter, owner; Head Crew, Marcella McCoy, Mary Hillsman, Sara Henderson; O&M Enterprise, Inc., Tony Lerda and Linda Frazier.

Visionary – Gift of $1,000 – $2,499 – Abel Machine -Eric and Sarah Abel; Holden Family Care, LLC – Dorothy Adams.

Achiever – Gift of $500 – $999 – Eric and Sarah Abel; 2nd Street Bistro – Alicia Edwards and Yssel Aguilar; Ray and Sandra Briscoe; Central Bank of Warrensburg – Emmy Tabor; American Family Insurance – Ted Guinn; F&C Bank – Jennifer Smithson; L.J. Hart & Co. – Larry J. Hart; Bob and Linda Mickey; Mike Keith Insurance; Slack Farms – RT and Christie Slack; Robert Taylor Insurance – Ruth Ferguson; Dr. John and Fran Yoder; and Yoss Bros. Grocery – Caleb Frazier.

“Our community wants to help our school district’s teachers and students, and it shows!” exclaimed Davidson.

If you are interested in learning more about the Foundation, the grants, or other work they do, please contact Davidson or any other Foundation member.

Since its inception in 2006, the Holden Foundation has awarded 91 grants, for a grand total of $77,569.56 in educational funds!

Help keep the dreams and aspirations of the students and teachers alive by supporting their desire to enhance the educational opportunities at the Holden R-III District!

Leave a Comment